Mobile Key Solutions for Luxury Hotels: A Practical Guide
Hospitality access guide
Luxury guests expect to reach their room without queuing at the front desk. A mobile key can deliver that, but it depends on the lock platform, the credential type, the property management system (PMS) and the guest’s phone. This guide explains the options and what to verify first. For project delivery, see Novatelia’s hotel technology service page linked below.

Last reviewed 19 October 2026. Published by Novatelia. Labels used on this page: Documented means shown in a CSA certification record or stated in an official manufacturer, platform or regulator document. Announced means officially announced as future or roadmap work. Not documented means no public source was found, so it must be confirmed with the manufacturer.
Guide or project? Where this page fits
This is an information guide. Design, installation and integration work for hotels is described on hotel technology and smart lock systems, which covers guest-room access, networking, Wi-Fi, fiber and the PMS integration review.
Three ways a phone can open a hotel door
| Approach | How it works | What to note |
|---|---|---|
| Hotel or brand app key | The guest opens a hotel or brand app that communicates with the lock. The method is platform-specific. | The guest has to install the app and sign in. |
| Wallet room key | The key is stored in the phone’s wallet. Apple documents hotel room keys in Apple Wallet. | Apple does not state that these keys use Aliro. Availability depends on the hotel’s lock and hospitality platform. |
| Aliro wallet credential | An open CSA standard (Aliro 1.0, 26 February 2026) using NFC, Bluetooth LE or UWB. | Hospitality is a CSA target use case, but PMS issuance into wallets is not documented yet. |

What a luxury hotel needs from a mobile key
- The key is issued automatically at check-in and stops working at check-out.
- It works on the phones guests carry: iPhone and Android, and smartwatches where supported.
- Every guest has a fallback, such as an RFID card or a PIN.
- Staff master and section keys, privacy or do-not-disturb handling and an emergency override.
- An audit trail, offline operation at the door and battery monitoring.
- Integration with the PMS and access platform, verified for the exact software version and licence.
Where Aliro fits today
Aliro 1.0 standardizes the exchange between phone and lock, uses asymmetric cryptography and works without network coverage (documented, CSA). Secure key sharing is a planned future phase (announced, CSA). Public documentation does not yet show a hotel PMS issuing Aliro guest keys into Apple, Google or Samsung Wallet (not documented).
For a luxury property, Aliro is a good reason to future-proof a specification. It is not yet a reason to replace a guest-room system that works.
Products Novatelia is evaluating
Novatelia is evaluating these products and is in discussion with the manufacturers. It is not a partner or authorized reseller of either.
| Product | What is documented | Hotel PMS integration |
|---|---|---|
| Nuki Keypad 2 NFC | CSA Aliro certificate CSA26003ALR80003-NF (NFC). Works with Apple home key and Samsung Digital Home Key through Apple Home or SmartThings, or in Nuki App Mode. Nuki’s hosting integrations are vacation-rental platforms. | Not documented. Better suited to villas, serviced apartments and staff housing. |
| Last Lock C100 (Core Series) | CSA Aliro certificate CSA26006ALR80006-NF. Commercial cylinders that accept 125 kHz, NFC, Bluetooth LE and UWB credentials, with an API and a link to existing access-control systems. | Not documented. The certified Aliro transport and wallet support are also not documented. |
The infrastructure behind a reliable mobile key
A mobile key depends on more than the lock: a door survey, gateways or hubs where the platform uses them, Wi-Fi and network segmentation, the PMS interface, commissioning and acceptance tests. See network and infrastructure design, API integration and testing, validation and handover.
A sensible path for 100 to 500-room hotels
- Assess the doors, the lock platform, the PMS version and the mix of guest phones.
- Run a showroom demo, then pilot mobile and Aliro credentials on back-of-house or amenity doors.
- Measure success rate, offline behaviour, issue and revoke times, and staff workflow.
- Decide on guest-room scope only when the vendor documents PMS issuance, expiry and revocation.
Questions and answers
01Can hotel guests use Apple Wallet as a room key?
Apple documents that Apple Wallet can store hotel room keys. Whether a specific hotel can offer this depends on its lock and hospitality platform. Apple does not state that these hotel keys use Aliro.
02Is Aliro ready for hotel guest rooms?
Aliro 1.0 lists hospitality as a use case, but public documentation does not yet show hotel PMS systems issuing Aliro guest keys into phone wallets. A pilot should come before any guest-room commitment.
03Do mobile keys replace key cards?
Not entirely. Hotels should keep a card or PIN fallback for guests without compatible phones, for flat phone batteries, and for staff and emergency procedures.
04Do mobile key locks work if the hotel network is down?
Battery hotel locks commonly check credentials at the door, depending on the platform, and Aliro is designed to work without network coverage. Expiry enforcement and audit sync depend on the lock’s time source and design, so this must be tested.
05Is Novatelia an authorized partner of Nuki or Last Lock?
No. Novatelia is evaluating products from these manufacturers and is in discussion with them, but is not a partner, authorized reseller or distributor.
06Which PMS works with mobile keys?
PMS compatibility must be verified for the specific PMS version, lock platform, integration method and licence. Any named PMS is a verification item, not a supported connector.
Related pages
Discuss an Aliro or mobile-access requirement
Tell us about the property, the doors, the systems already in place and the timeline. Novatelia will reply with an engineering scope that separates what is verified from what still needs confirmation. No price is published on this page.
Sources
Public sources checked on 19 October 2026. Product and wallet support changes often, so confirm each item with the manufacturer before a commitment.
- Connectivity Standards Alliance: Introducing Aliro 1.0 (26 Feb 2026)
- Apple iPhone User Guide: use digital keys in Wallet
- Apple Platform Security: access using Apple Wallet
- CSA certified product record: Nuki Keypad 2 NFC
- Nuki: Keypad 2 NFC product page
- Nuki Support: how the Keypad 2 NFC works
- Nuki: Smart Hosting
- CSA certified product record: Last Lock C100
- Last Lock: product page
- Last Lock via PRWeb: Aliro-certified locks at ISC West (25 Mar 2026)
- Samsung Research: CSA Aliro 1.0 standardized access control
